„ Une petite histoire de carrés “

„ Une petite histoire de carrés “

From 1 to 28 November, come and discover a giant knitted work by the “Collectif au Carré” at the Naturpark Musée de la draperie. It is an XXL knitted copy of an emblematic painting from the collection of the Museums of the City of Luxembourg, “La Petite Histoire” by the Luxembourg painter Corneille Lentz (1879-1937).

On 1 October 2020, the non-profit organisation Mamie et Moi launched a new intergenerational project in Luxembourg, called “Collectif au Carré”. The idea was to make a giant copy of a painting, with the aim of “doing it together”, despite the health crisis.

From thousands of squares knitted by individuals, initiated or beginners, from their homes, this reproduction was assembled in the manner of a puzzle, from January 2021, during participative workshops open to all. The final size of the work is 1.50 by 2 metres and required 1,218 squares of 5 by 5 cm.

More than 600 people of 17 different nationalities participated and handed in a total of 30,000 squares. Apart from Luxembourg, squares were sent from France, Belgium, Italy, Portugal, Ireland, Turkey, Tunisia, Russia and Brazil. The squares that were not included in the reproduction will be used in the workshops organised around the exhibition.

This exhibition is an opportunity to learn more about an adventure that lasted 8 months, the challenges taken up by the Collective during the pandemic and especially the link between generations and cultures that it generated.

The “Collectif au Carré” project has received the support of the Ministry of Family, Integration and the Greater Region. Project partners: The 2 Museums of the City of Luxembourg, the French association Citémômes (project “Tricote un sourire”). For more information about the project: www.collectifaucarre.lu, www.mamieetmoi.com

Photo: Aurélie Grolleron
Painting: Corneille Lentz (1879 – 1937), La petite histoire, 1921, huile sur toile, © Collection les 2 Musées de la Ville de Luxembourg

„ Une petite histoire de carrés “

„ Une petite histoire de carrés “

Du 1er au 28 novembre, venez découvrir au Naturpark Musée de la draperie, une œuvre géante tricotée par le« Collectif au Carré ». Il s’agit d’une copie en tricot XXL d’un tableau emblématique de la collection des Musées de la Ville de Luxembourg, « La Petite Histoire » du peintre luxembourgeois Corneille Lentz (1879–1937).

L’asbl Mamie et Moi avait lancé le 1er octobre 2020 un projet intergénérationnel inédit au Luxembourg, baptisé « Collectif au Carré ». L’idée était de réaliser une copie géante d’un tableau, avec l’objectif de « Faire ensemble », malgré la crise sanitaire.

À partir de milliers de carrés tricotés par des particuliers, initiés ou débutants, depuis chez eux, cette reproduction a été assemblée à la façon d’un puzzle, à partir de janvier 2021, lors d’ateliers participatifs ouverts à tous les publics. La dimension finale de l’œuvre est de 1,50 sur 2 mètres et a nécessité 1 218 carrés de 5 sur 5 cm.

Plus de 600 personnes de 17 nationalités différentes ont participé et remis 30 000 carrés au total. En dehors du Luxembourg, des carrés ont été envoyés de France, Belgique, Italie, Portugal, Irlande, Turquie, Tunisie, Russie et Brésil. Les carrés qui n’ont pas été intégrés dans la reproduction seront utilisés dans le cadre des ateliers organisés autour de l’exposition, notamment.

Cette exposition est l’occasion, d’en apprendre plus sur une aventure qui aura duré 8 mois, les challenges relevés par le Collectif en période de pandémie et surtout le lien entre générations et cultures qu’elle aura généré.

Le projet Collectif au Carré a reçu le soutien du Ministère de la Famille, de l’Intégration et à la Grande Région. Partenaires du projet : Les 2 Musées de la Ville de Luxembourg, l’association française Citémômes (projet « Tricote un sourire »). Pour plus d’informations concernant le projet : www.collectifaucarre.lu, www.mamieetmoi.com

Photo : Aurélie Grolleron Tableau : Corneille Lentz (1879 – 1937), La petite histoire, 1921, huile sur toile, © Collection les 2 Musées de la Ville de Luxembourg