„ Une petite histoire de carrés “

„ Une petite histoire de carrés “

From 1 to 28 November, come and discover a giant knitted work by the “Collectif au Carré” at the Naturpark Musée de la draperie. It is an XXL knitted copy of an emblematic painting from the collection of the Museums of the City of Luxembourg, “La Petite Histoire” by the Luxembourg painter Corneille Lentz (1879-1937).

On 1 October 2020, the non-profit organisation Mamie et Moi launched a new intergenerational project in Luxembourg, called “Collectif au Carré”. The idea was to make a giant copy of a painting, with the aim of “doing it together”, despite the health crisis.

From thousands of squares knitted by individuals, initiated or beginners, from their homes, this reproduction was assembled in the manner of a puzzle, from January 2021, during participative workshops open to all. The final size of the work is 1.50 by 2 metres and required 1,218 squares of 5 by 5 cm.

More than 600 people of 17 different nationalities participated and handed in a total of 30,000 squares. Apart from Luxembourg, squares were sent from France, Belgium, Italy, Portugal, Ireland, Turkey, Tunisia, Russia and Brazil. The squares that were not included in the reproduction will be used in the workshops organised around the exhibition.

This exhibition is an opportunity to learn more about an adventure that lasted 8 months, the challenges taken up by the Collective during the pandemic and especially the link between generations and cultures that it generated.

The “Collectif au Carré” project has received the support of the Ministry of Family, Integration and the Greater Region. Project partners: The 2 Museums of the City of Luxembourg, the French association Citémômes (project “Tricote un sourire”). For more information about the project: www.collectifaucarre.lu, www.mamieetmoi.com

Photo: Aurélie Grolleron
Painting: Corneille Lentz (1879 – 1937), La petite histoire, 1921, huile sur toile, © Collection les 2 Musées de la Ville de Luxembourg

„ Une petite histoire de carrés “

„ Une petite histoire de carrés “

Vom 1. bis 28. November können Sie im Naturpark Museum der Tuchfabrik ein riesiges Strickwerk des „Collectif au Carré“ entdecken. Es handelt sich um eine gestrickte XXL-Kopie eines emblematischen Gemäldes aus der Sammlung der Museen der Stadt Luxemburg, „La Petite Histoire“ des luxemburgischen Malers Corneille Lentz (1879-1937).

Am 1. Oktober 2020 startete die gemeinnützige Organisation Mamie et Moi in Luxemburg ein neues generationenübergreifendes Projekt mit dem Namen „Collectif au Carré“. Die Idee war, eine riesige Kopie eines Gemäldes anzufertigen, mit dem Ziel, es trotz der Gesundheitskrise „gemeinsam zu schaffen“.

Aus Tausenden von Quadraten, die von Privatpersonen – ob Anfänger oder Fortgeschrittene – zu Hause gestrickt wurden, wurde diese Reproduktion ab Januar 2021 in partizipativen Workshops wie ein Puzzle zusammengesetzt. Die endgültige Größe des Werks beträgt 1,50 mal 2 Meter und erforderte 1.218 Quadrate von 5 mal 5 cm.

Mehr als 600 Personen aus 17 verschiedenen Ländern nahmen daran teil und reichten insgesamt 30.000 Quadrate ein. Außer aus Luxemburg wurden auch aus Frankreich, Belgien, Italien, Portugal, Irland, der Türkei, Tunesien, Russland und Brasilien Quadrate geschickt. Die Quadrate, die nicht in die Reproduktion aufgenommen wurden, werden in den Workshops verwendet, die rund um die Ausstellung organisiert werden.

Diese Ausstellung bietet die Gelegenheit, mehr über ein achtmonatiges Abenteuer, die Herausforderungen, denen sich das Kollektiv während der Pandemie stellte, und vor allem über die dadurch entstandene Verbindung zwischen Generationen und Kulturen zu erfahren.

Das Projekt „Collectif au Carré“ wurde vom Ministerium für Familie, Integration und die Großregion unterstützt. Projektpartner: Die 2 Museen der Stadt Luxemburg, die französische Vereinigung Citémômes (Projekt „Tricote un sourire“). Für weitere Informationen über das Projekt: www.collectifaucarre.lu, www.mamieetmoi.com

Foto: Aurélie Grolleron
Gemälde: Corneille Lentz (1879 – 1937), La petite histoire, 1921, huile sur toile, © Collection les 2 Musées de la Ville de Luxembourg